Fire Season is coming

In the Earthways Shamanic Path, I study the seasons as they unfold in my location, which is Southwest Florida.  The seasons here are, Rainy, Hurricane, Dry, and Fire.  I call this, ‘finding the Magic In the land,’

Fire Season starts in mid-February.  Some of the physical markers are, a doubling of our population, a drop in temperature, an increase in fires.  These markers relate to the spiritual aspects, which I’ll address in a different post.

I know Fire Season is coming, because the Live Oak trees are brimming with their flower parts, and will release “scree” soon.  Scree can be collected, dried, and used in place of sage, for smudging purposes. 

I don’t have Live Oak trees in my yard, but I know where they are.  The trick to collecting scree is it needs to fall onto a tarp, or on a paved surface, because it is whispy.

Scree burns fast, and you need to gather a lot of it.  Since the weather patterns have shifted so much, trees are blooming at unpredictable times.  Thus, when we see that the trees are just about to release the scree, we need to be prepared to collect it, that day, or the next. 

Share your peace with Mother Earth and Father Sky and the big Waters all around us.

(c) 2017 to present, Whale Maiden for the Earthways Shamanic Path.  All rights reserved. 

 

Author: Whale Maiden

I'm a Shaman living in suburban Southwest Florida. I study animals and the weather and reflect on the cycles of life.

4 thoughts on “Fire Season is coming”

  1. I never really knew about scree. I do know that this Fall up here in Maine was in major acorn production. Most of my squirrels have disappeared. That might be because of the eagles we saw circling over head during the Fall? I did learn that deer and turkeys are big eaters of acorns and we did see about 20 turkeys pass by our property on Monday. They were ice/snow walking by on the pond (lake).

    Like

    1. Scree, is a word we use here. I think I generated it, and some members of a group I was in, picked it up, and now, that’s what we all call it.

      I will take more pictures of it, in its phsses, as the gathering season progresses.

      I think it’s interesting to learn what animals eat. I remember learning many years ago that squirrels eat citrus fruit!

      Like

      1. I have learned some things about what animals eat from hunters. In regards to acorns, the person with that information was our bug guy (we had a problem with carpenter ants and rodents). Citrus? Don’t think that I will be adding a twist of lemon to our bird feeders then. I just remember that word “scree” I learned from a hiking book about the mountains. Funny way my mind works sometimes.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

